Recite Me Button Accessibility

Lifetime achievement award for Sanjeev Sharma

9:13 am  //  30th December 2021

Sanjeev and Deepali Sharma holding award
Sanjeev and Deepali Sharma

A consultant surgeon’s lifetime work in women’s healthcare was recognised at Southport and Ormskirk hospitals’ annual Time to Shine staff awards.

Mr Sanjeev Sharma received his Lifetime Achievement Award from Executive Medical Director Dr Kate Clark at the online ceremony broadcast to staff and their families.

Dr Clark said: “I’ve learnt from the unprompted warmth with which colleagues talk about him, that he is a man held in huge esteem by all those who knew and worked with him.

“It is said he could hardly walk down a corridor without people stopping him to say hello! Perhaps it was because he helped so many of them over the course of his long career – and few forgot his kindness and approachable manner.”

The consultant obstetrician and gynaecologist, from Formby, joined what would become Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust in 1992 after being a senior registrar in Liverpool.

Using his close links with the city, he developed a first-class fertility service at Ormskirk hospital that made dreams come true for many hundreds of couples.

Mr Sharma, who retired in summer after being struck down with Covid-19 in March 2020, joined the ceremony remotely with his wife Deepali. Their daughter Iona thanked his colleagues on behalf of the family.

Also recognised was intensive care nurse Jennifer Harrison who won the People’s Health Hero Award. She was chosen from more than 50 nominations made by members of the public.

The Time to Shine Awards were hosted by nurses Brendan Prescott, Deputy Director of Quality, Risk and Assurance, Rachelle Alty, Head of Professional Practice Development for Nursing and Midwifery.

The awards were presented by Trust chair Neil Masom and the executive directors. The sponsors were Edge Hill University, workforce partners NHS Professionals, solicitors Hill Dickinson and clinical technology partners System C.

The shortlisted nominees, with the category winners in bold, were:


Thanks a Bunch Award

  • The hospital bed managers
  • Infection Control Team
  • Sapphire Team from Maternity


Volunteer of the Year Award

  • Brian Conlan, Radio Heartbeat
  • Judith Hulse, patient dog One-eyed Jack’s “mum”
  • Southport and Ormskirk hospital gardeners


Quality Improvement & Innovation Award

  • Dr Veeravenkata Jonnalagedda
  • Neonate Unit
  • Sophie Needham and Julie Marshall, acute oncology team


Learner of the Year Award 

  • Zoe Whiteside, post-graduate co-ordinator
  • Darren Hallinan, physiotherapist
  • Marie Wallace, lead nurse and sexual health practitioner


Non- Clinical Team of the Year 

  • Health and Safety team
  • Linen Services team
  • Southport and Ormskirk hospitals domestic teams


Compassion in Action Award

  • Leanne Gilbertson, paediatric nurse
  • Pain Clinic team
  • Hilary McLaren, Admiral Nurse


Every Day Excellence Award

  • Anne Hooper, domestic
  • Switchboard team
  • Kate Monaghan, Directorate Manager for Emergency Department


Clinical Mentor of the Year 

  • James Mercer, nurse on Ward 7A and CCU
  • Hughna Cotton, ICU nurse
  • Dr Niranjani Ramachandran


Clinical Team of the Year 

  • Discharge Lounge team
  • Southport and Ormskirk hospitals theatre teams
  • Ward 15A


People’s Health Hero Award 

  • Louise White, midwife
  • Laura Hallett, occupational therapist
  • Jennifer Harrison, ICU nurse


Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Mr Sanjeev Sharma


When am I going home? It’s ok to ask

12:40 pm // 8th August 2022

Southport and Ormskirk hospitals’ chief nurse is asking patients and families to be curious about…

Spinal injuries team welcomes Horatio’s Garden cyclists

9:34 am // 1st August 2022

The North West Regional Spinal Injuries Centre was delighted to welcome Horatio’s Garden to its…

£1.1m Southport hospital discharge lounge welcomes first patient

12:08 pm // 22nd July 2022

Southport resident Richard Tydd, the first patient through the door, is…