View All News Items :: Search the News Database Search

Right Arrow Vote now for your NHS hero in our 2014 Pride Awards
17 February 2014 at 09:27

Do you know a member of staff working at our hospitals or in our community health services who deserves special recognition for their excellence and professionalism?

The Trust’s Pride Awards, now in their sixth year, will be held on Friday 6th June at Southport Theatre and Convention Centre.

The Patients’ Award is an opportunity for patients and families to show their individual appreciation to a particular member of staff or team. The award is shortlisted only for staff nominated by members of the public.

Staff themselves are nominating colleagues for awards in 12 other categories.

Members of the public can nominate online by visiting

Nominations close at midnight on 19 March 2013 and can also be made in requesting a form by calling 01704 704714.

Jonathan Parry, chief executive of Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust, said: “Pride Awards 2014 is the chance for patients and their families to highlight someone who they think made their experience of care that extra bit special.”

“Our staff work for the NHS across Sefton and West Lancashire in community roles such as district nurses as well as in the many different services we provide at our hospitals in Southport and Ormskirk.

“Staff receive thousands of thank yous from patients and families every year but the Patients’ Award is a special and very public way of paying tribute to their care and professionalism.”

Issued by Tony Ellis, marketing and communications manager
Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust

Telephone 01704 704494
Twitter SOHNHSTrust

Notes for editors

1. Southport and Ormskirk Hospital NHS Trust manages Southport and Formby District General Hospital and Ormskirk and District General Hospital, and is responsible for many community healthcare services for adults in Southport, Formby and West Lancashire. We have a budget of £181m and employ 3,300 staff. In 2012/13, our staff saw 247,605 outpatients; treated 60,635 inpatients; supported the birth of 3,043 babies; and attended to 98,163 urgent care cases.

2. Last year’s Patients’ Award winners were Dr Chris Barker, who leads the pain service at Ainsdale Centre for Health and Well-being, and healthcare assistant Carol Barnes.

3. Trust staff are voting for colleagues in the following awards:

• Team of the Year
• Chief Executive’s Award
• Chairman’s Award (for volunteers)
• Patient Safety Award
• Safely Reducing Costs Award
• Doctor of the Year
• Nurse/Midwife of the Year
• Health Care Assistant of the Year
• Health Professional of the Year
• Support Worker of the Year
• Administrative/Clerical Worker of the Year
• Leadership Award